B.L.U.E. - CITY TREES (IN PLANNING)

Baum_1.jpg

City trees and inner-city green spaces are natural air conditioning systems that are essential for the “air conditioning” of cities. A fully grown deciduous tree evaporates up to 400 liters of water on a hot summer day and thus cools its surroundings. They are also effective shade providers, for example a single deciduous tree with a 15m crown diameter can cool an area of 160 m² with its shade. In addition, city trees bind a considerable amount of CO2 and dust.  

Climate change is leading to ever increasing heat loads in city centers. Trees particularly suffer from these extreme weather conditions.

Baum.jpg

City trees struggle with pollutants from the air, with too small planting areas and too little space for roots, too much light, with the use of salt in winter and with injuries from construction work or accidents. This makes them susceptible to pests such as chestnut leaf miners, Asian longhorn beetles and fungal and bacterial diseases.

Baum_2.jpg

Cities such as Frankfurt am Main with its 200,000 city trees already offer tree sponsorships. B.L.U.E. Germany wants to initiate further tree protection campaigns and is looking for supporters for the conservation, new planting and care of urban trees.

Baum.HEIC

But every resident can do something for the trees on their doorstep even without having to spend money. Watering is particularly important for younger trees that have not yet been able to develop a lot of roots. Even before the start of summer, watering should be done in the morning hours or after sunset. Water rather seldom, but in a larger quantity. This increases the chance that the water can sink deeper.

BLUE - CITY TREES (GEPLANT)

Baum_1.jpg

Stadtbäume und innerstädtische Grünflächen sind als natürliche Klimaanlagen überlebensnotwendig für die „Klimatisierung“ der Städte. Ein ausgewachsener Laubbaum verdunstet an einem heißen Sommertag bis zu 400 Liter Wasser und kühlt somit seine Umgebung ab. Außerdem sind sie effektive Schattenspender, so z.B. schafft es ein einziger Laubbaum mit 15m Kronendurchschnitt, eine Fläche von 160 m² mit seinem Schatten zu kühlen. Dazu binden Stadtbäume in erheblichen Maß CO2 und Staub. 

Der Klimawandel führt zu immer weiter steigender Hitzebelastung in den Stadtzentren. Bäume leiden besonders unter diesen extremen Wetterbedingungen.

Baum.jpg

Stadtbäume kämpfen mit den Schadstoffen aus der Luft, mit zu kleinen Pflanzflächen und zu wenig Raum für Wurzeln, zu viel Licht, mit Salzeinsatz im Winter und mit Verletzungen durch Bauarbeiten oder Unfälle. Das macht sie anfällig für Schädlinge wie Kastanienminiermotte, asiatischen Citrusbockkäfer und Pilz- und Bakterienerkrankungen.

Baum_2.jpg

Städte wie beispielsweise Frankfurt am Main mit seinen 200.000 Stadtbäumen, bietet bereits Baumpatenschaften an. B.L.U.E. Germany will weitere Baumschutzaktionen initieren und sucht Unterstützer für die Erhaltung, Neuanpflanzung und Pflege von Stadtbäumen.

Baum.HEIC

Aber auch ohne Geld in die Hand neben zu müssen, kann jeder Anwohner etwa für die Bäume vor seiner Haustür tun. Besonders wichtig ist das Gießen bei jüngeren Bäumen, die noch nicht viel Wurzelwerk ausbilden konnten. Schon vor Beginn des Sommers sollte in den Morgenstunden oder nach Sonnenuntergang gegossen werden. Gießen eher seltener, aber dafür mehr. Dadurch vergrößert sich die Chance, dass das Wasser tiefer einsinken kann.